Delimitation of Electoral Districts or Constituencies

The delimitation of electoral districts or constituencies is influenced by the growth and shifts in the population. It is conducted in accordance with Section 72 and the Second Schedule of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in the case of Parliamentary Elections. In regard to elections at the level of the Municipal Corporations and that of the Tobago House of Assembly, the legal instruments by which the Commission is guided are the Elections and Boundaries Commission (Local Government) Act Ch. 25:50 (Act No. 18 of 1967), the Municipal Corporations Act 1990 (Act No. 37 of 1980) and their amendments.

The Commission is obliged to submit reports to Parliament on its recommendations in respect of the number of electoral districts and the descriptions of the boundaries of each district defined for Parliamentary, Local Government and Tobago House of Assembly elections.

Learn more about: