

April 17, 2025

Attention All Editors

For Immediate Release

Statement from the EBC on recent offshore Special Voting 2025

On April 16, 2025, the Elections and Boundaries Commission (the Commission) notified political parties and independent candidates about the schedule for Special Voting for offshore workers. Before this, no arrangements had been made with any offshore entities for Special Voting on April 15, 2025, as the sorting of special envelopes occurred that day. While tentative plans for April 16, 2025, were in place, they depended on the timely retrieval of envelopes by offshore companies for their approved special electors, which was completed very early that morning.

Traditionally, political parties have not actively participated in Special Voting for offshore personnel due to the logistical challenges posed by offshore work schedules and access issues. Consequently, arrangements for transporting election workers depend on offshore companies, and the Commission made significant efforts to accommodate their requests.

After careful consideration of the requests from offshore companies, the Commission organised Special Voting on April 16 and 17, 2025. To promote transparency, the Commission has provided all political parties and independent candidates with Statements of Contents from the Special Ballot Boxes from each of these Special Voting exercises. On April 16, a total of 58 persons voted, and on April 17, an additional 16 persons cast their votes. This brings the overall total to 74 persons who exercised their franchise at the offshore Special Voting exercises thus far. The political parties and independent candidates have been provided with these details as indicated.

Overall, a total of 16,748 persons were granted Special Elector Status. The usual Special Voting will commence from Monday, 21st April 2025. Additional Special Polling Stations will function between 9 am to 3 pm until Thursday, 24th April 2025, at the following locations:

- 1. Path Care Building, # 65 Frederick Street, Port of Spain (next to T&TEC);
- 2. San Fernando & Penal/Debe Registration Area Office, 194 Circular Road, San Fernando;
- 3. Tobago Registration Area Office, Caroline Building #2, 11 Hamilton Street, Scarborough, Tobago.





Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Special Polling Stations established by Returning Officers will function between 9 am to 3 pm until Sunday, 27th April 2025, at the offices of the Returning Officers. A listing of these offices will be advertised and are available via the Commission's website and Facebook Page.

The Commission is dedicated to maintaining transparency and integrity in the electoral process and is committed to collaborating with all stakeholders.

END

For further information, contact the Corporate Communications Unit at 625-5924 or comofficer@ebctt.com

