

March 20, 2025

Attention All Editors

For Immediate Release

RETURNING OFFICERS RECEIVE THEIR WRITS FOR PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS 2025

The forty-one persons who were appointed to serve as Returning Officers for the April 28, 2025 Elections were presented with Writs of Election issued by Her Excellency, Christine Kangaloo, O.R.T.T, giving them the authority to cause a poll to be taken in their respective electoral districts on behalf of the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC).

In her Opening Remarks to the Returning Officers and prospective Election Clerks, Mrs. Fern Narcis-Scope, Chief Election Officer, commended attendees for their dedication to the electoral process. She highlighted the vital role they play in upholding democratic principles, stressing that fairness and accountability are essential in strengthening public confidence and ensuring the credibility of free and fair elections

Ms. Pamela Ogiste, Assistant Chief Election Officer, also emphasised the theme of "Building Bridges and Fostering Trust in the Electoral Process." She highlighted that elections are the foundation of democracy and that public confidence in the system relies not only on the rules and regulations upheld but also on the integrity, professionalism, and dedication of those who administer the process.

A motivational speech was given by Mr. Luke Quamina, a John C. Maxwell Certified Coach, inspiring attendees to embrace their roles with confidence and commitment. He emphasized the importance of leadership, personal growth, and a strong sense of duty in upholding the integrity of the electoral process.





The Returning Officers were presented with their Writs, by the Chairman, Mr. Mark Ramkerrysingh and Mrs. Karla Drayton-Edwards, which were transmitted in accordance with Election Rule 3 of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 2:01. at the Cipriani College of Labour & Co-Operative Studies, Valsayn on Thursday 20 March, 2025.



Returning Officers for the Parliamentary Elections 2025

(Front L-R: Commissioner Mrs. Karla Drayton-Edwards, Chairman Mr. Mark Ramkerrysingh, and Chief Election Officer Mrs. Fern Narcis-Scope)

END

For further information please contact the Corporate Communications Unit at 625-5924 or comofficer@ebctt.com

